The special memorial incident in my life

 On 15th of October was a very special day for me.  I went to Siththangalla for the first time and have many happy memories from the visit.
I got an idea to go to Siththangalla to see Perahere. My sister and I discussed it and in the morning. We went our cousin’s house in Wallasmulla. It is close  to Sittangalla . The Perahere is held on special occasions like the one at Devinuwara during the same period.
Siththangalla is very sacred, historical and ancient temple in the Southern province. I didn’t know of its legend until I went there. I heard that the temple was build before Mulgirigala. It is also like Mulgirigala rock temple which is also situated on a rock.
That night at about 9.00 p.m, I went to see Siththangalla Maha perahera. Vindya, my brother, my cousin’s two sisters and their mother went with me. We went there by bus, but we also had to go on foot for some distance.
First we went to worship at Siththangalla temple. At night the surroundings were decorated with lights and decorations. When we climbed to the top of the rock we could see the whole area which was a very beautiful scene. But it became unclear because of the mist and darkness. We got a little wet.
After worshiping we climbed down and went shopping. There are various goods like toys, ornaments, dresses, flowers, clay pots and sweet meals etc.
When the Perahera started we went shopping and at the end we felt very tired. So we stayed in a bus to rest till the Perahera came near our place. 
We got a nap in the bus and suddenly my sister woke up me. The Perahera was very beautiful with about 18 elephants and dancing groups. Elephants were decorated with nice new dresses and they went in the Perahera very looking proud. They added to Perahera’s unforgettable scenery.
The Perahera started about 1.00 a.m. and it finished about 3.30 a.m. When we came back it was at about 4.00 a.m. This is the first time I was seen Perahera in the night time. So it is very new experience for my life and an unforgettable  sweet memory.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

